TALLAHASSEE, Fla — Businesses, schools and government agencies could face a fine of $5,000 if they require you to show proof of vaccination.
The state of Florida is starting to enforce the penalty starting September 16. Violators can appeal the fine, but if they lose, they have 30 days to pay.
Earlier this year, Governor Ron DeSantis signed a bill into law banning vaccine passports. DeSantis’ office says he is defending individual rights from unjustified overreach.
The bill ‘takes aim at arbitrary lockdowns, vaccine passports and enhances emergency preparedness for future emergencies’, according to the governor’s office.
“In Florida, your personal choice regarding vaccinations will be protected and no business or government entity will be able to deny you services based on your decision. I’d like to thank President Simpson, Speaker Sprowls and the Florida Legislature for getting this legislation got across the finish line”, DeSantis said in May.